What is a sac hit?

SDS

I had a sac fly but that wasn’t it.

SDS

You have to reach at least first base cleanly, where the first base coach will then hand you a sword and you.. well, fall on it. Teams used to use guns but fans complained of splatter.

SDS

@chuckclc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

You have to reach at least first base cleanly, where the first base coach will then hand you a sword and you.. well, fall on it. Teams used to use guns but fans complained of splatter.

Ok, so I can get the sword from the coach. I have it in my inventory, but it won’t let me equip it. Hurry, man, I’ve got 1000xp riding on this.

SDS

Bunt a runner over. I don't think they count sac flies and sac hits the same.

SDS

If you time your swing just right on a changeup up the middle, you'll hit a perfect-perfect line drive that nails an infielder right in the sac. That's a sac hit. lol

SDS

Serious answer, sacrifice hit is when you bunt the ball to move the guy over and presumably give up an out, but reach base because of an error or fielder’s choice.

SDS

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

Serious answer, sacrifice hit is when you bunt the ball to move the guy over and presumably give up an out, but reach base because of an error or fielder’s choice.

What?? That second part doesn’t make sense.

SDS

@yankblan_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

Serious answer, sacrifice hit is when you bunt the ball to move the guy over and presumably give up an out, but reach base because of an error or fielder’s choice.

What?? That second part doesn’t make sense.

Oops, I left out part of the description.

If you bunt and you make it to first before the throw, then it’s just an infield hit
If you bunt and they go to first and get the out, it’s a sacrifice hit, and doesn’t count as an AB.

Last part is harder to explain with the fielders choice but would be akin to runners on first and second, hitter bunts, lead runner goes to third, throw goes to second to get trail runner but hitter safe at first, you still get credit for the sacrifice hit and it doesn’t count as an AB.

SDS

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

@yankblan_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

Serious answer, sacrifice hit is when you bunt the ball to move the guy over and presumably give up an out, but reach base because of an error or fielder’s choice.

What?? That second part doesn’t make sense.

Oops, I left out part of the description.

If you bunt and you make it to first before the throw, then it’s just an infield hit
If you bunt and they go to first and get the out, it’s a sacrifice hit, and doesn’t count as an AB.

Last part is harder to explain with the fielders choice but would be akin to runners on first and second, hitter bunts, lead runner goes to third, throw goes to second to get trail runner but hitter safe at first, you still get credit for the sacrifice hit and it doesn’t count as an AB.

Ok, got it lol

SDS

They wanted a sac bunt. Is it called a sac hit other places in the world, specificity in San Diego? This game is the only place I’ve heard it referred to as that.

SDS

@vagimon_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

They wanted a sac bunt. Is it called a sac hit other places in the world, specificity in San Diego? This game is the only place I’ve heard it referred to as that.

https://www.baseball-reference.com/bullpen/Sacrifice_hit

SDS

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

@vagimon_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

They wanted a sac bunt. Is it called a sac hit other places in the world, specificity in San Diego? This game is the only place I’ve heard it referred to as that.

https://www.baseball-reference.com/bullpen/Sacrifice_hit

It’s interesting how the sacrifice rule changed over the years.

SDS

@mikerfofc_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

@vagimon_psn said in What is a sac hit?:

They wanted a sac bunt. Is it called a sac hit other places in the world, specificity in San Diego? This game is the only place I’ve heard it referred to as that.

https://www.baseball-reference.com/bullpen/Sacrifice_hit

What’s always been interesting to me, and I understand the rule, but why you get credit for a sacrifice if you bunt the runner from 1st to 2nd or 2nd to 3rd, but if you do the same on a flyball, that doesn’t count, even though it counts as a sacrifice to score the runner. Note: I do know it could count as a sacrifice fly if you have a fast enough runner to score on a fly out from second.