In a 10 inn game, no bench left except sp. Bring in Scherzer who can hit a little versus the relief pitcher I had in. Score a couple of runs and leave him in to pitch bottom of 10. Scherzer stays in game and Strikes out 3 to end the game. The pitcher he came in for in the top of the 10th as a pinch hitter is credited with win but no save is earned. Why? Thanks
Presumably because he entered the game as a PH, not as an RP. Though the rules don't expressly forbid this, they don't exactly endorse it either. It is weird.
Gagne was credited w/ the win because he was the pitcher of record when the winning run scored.