MLB rule re: extra innings and runner on 2nd

SDS

Hi all

Just lost a Mets (@ home) vs Phillies Franchise game in the 10th inning and noticed something which I thought was odd, but I couldn't find any MLB ruling. I'm hoping somebody here knows or knows where to find the rule.

The situation was this (I'm the Mets playing at home):

  • Trevor May pitched a flawless 9th inning. Scores tied 0-0 after 9 innings, so Rhys Hoskins starts the 10th on 2nd base for the Phillies.
  • I replaced May with Edwin Díaz to start the 10th inning.
  • Díaz gives up a double to Realmuto and Hoskins scores.
  • Philadelphia goes on to win 2-1.
  • In the box score, May is awarded the loss and the Hoskins run (unearned), Díaz awarded one earned run and one run but no loss.

In the game log there are a couple of oddities. The flow of play is correctly recorded, however it has 'Díaz in bullpen' in the bottom of the 9th when I started him throwing, and again twice in the top of the 10th. I did a mound visit in the top of the 10th before bringing Díaz into the game. But there is no acknowledgement of him pitching in the game log.

So I'm wondering if the ruling of May being awarded the loss for being 'responsible' for the runner on 2nd to start extra innings is correct (despite having no control over the situation), or if it has not been recorded correctly and is a bug.

Seeking the assistance of the forum's finest 🙂

Thanks

SDS

You can watch this video where the Cincinatti Reds official scorer discusses it. At about 2:18 is where he says the starting pitcher (or the previous pitcher prior to the start of that inning) gets the L.

https://baseballrulesacademy.com/how-to-score-extra-innings-official-scorers-advice/

SDS

@dap1234567890 said in MLB rule re: extra innings and runner on 2nd:

You can watch this video where the Cincinatti Reds official scorer discusses it. At about 2:18 is where he says the starting pitcher (or the previous pitcher prior to the start of that inning) gets the L.

https://baseballrulesacademy.com/how-to-score-extra-innings-official-scorers-advice/

Great clip, thanks for sharing. Explains it perfectly.

Definitely a bug in the game as May didn't throw a pitch or initiate any kind of play in the 10th; I think possibly having done the mound visit was the cause of it incorrectly picking him up for the L.

I took screenshots of the box score and game log so I'll log it as a bug report when I get the chance.

Thanks for your help 🙂

SDS

@Red_Ted_is_back said in MLB rule re: extra innings and runner on 2nd:

Hi all

Just lost a Mets (@ home) vs Phillies Franchise game in the 10th inning and noticed something which I thought was odd, but I couldn't find any MLB ruling. I'm hoping somebody here knows or knows where to find the rule.

The situation was this (I'm the Mets playing at home):

  • Trevor May pitched a flawless 9th inning. Scores tied 0-0 after 9 innings, so Rhys Hoskins starts the 10th on 2nd base for the Phillies.
  • I replaced May with Edwin Díaz to start the 10th inning.
  • Díaz gives up a double to Realmuto and Hoskins scores.
  • Philadelphia goes on to win 2-1.
  • In the box score, May is awarded the loss and the Hoskins run (unearned), Díaz awarded one earned run and one run but no loss.

In the game log there are a couple of oddities. The flow of play is correctly recorded, however it has 'Díaz in bullpen' in the bottom of the 9th when I started him throwing, and again twice in the top of the 10th. I did a mound visit in the top of the 10th before bringing Díaz into the game. But there is no acknowledgement of him pitching in the game log.

So I'm wondering if the ruling of May being awarded the loss for being 'responsible' for the runner on 2nd to start extra innings is correct (despite having no control over the situation), or if it has not been recorded correctly and is a bug.

Seeking the assistance of the forum's finest 🙂

Thanks

I hate the shadow runner on second in extra innings rule. I think it ruins the game.

SDS

It's so dumb that it's a rule but you have to schedule to pitch that pitcher the next inning for it to count on Diaz, and I have no clue why Diaz would be given an earned run, but on the loading screen it always says that all the runs are earned, I think it's just a bug because it does not fall on the pitchers ERA