Debate Topic: Is it possible for a pitcher to throw a perfect game and lose?

SDS

With the addition of the extra innings rule in 2020, a runner is put on second base to start the inning in extras. Is the game still perfect at this point or is the perfect game over since a runner reached base but by no fault of the pitcher. What do you all think?

SDS

100% possible, and by definition, you're still facing the minimum without allowing a hit/walk or having an error so its still a perfecto.

SDS

What if there's a dropped 3rd strike and the guy gets to first, is it still perfect?

SDS

@dirtydan1981_xbl said in Debate Topic: Is it possible for a pitcher to throw a perfect game and lose?:

What if there's a dropped 3rd strike and the guy gets to first, is it still perfect?

No

SDS

This is off topic, but wonder if there's ever been a pitcher that has more strike outs than the number of outs in the innings he played in. Like for example, a guy pitches 1 inning but has 5 strike outs and never plays again.

SDS

@dirtydan1981_xbl said in Debate Topic: Is it possible for a pitcher to throw a perfect game and lose?:

This is off topic, but wonder if there's ever been a pitcher that has more strike outs than the number of outs in the innings he played in. Like for example, a guy pitches 1 inning but has 5 strike outs and never plays again.

I know 4 have happened, idk about 5 though